13 Comments

I am enjoying too and agree with the "shame we have to wait a month" comment. May well be dead before all clues have been solved.

I think that I went to school with Stuart by the sounds of it, may even have gone to the pub with him at lunch break before one of the Physics A level exams.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Ian, glad you're enjoying it.

You and Stuart must have been reckless 18yos (unless you had three other A level's to fall back on?)

Definitely sticking to the 'monthly' serialisation plan in the short term (giving more time to sign up readers), but will maybe think about accelerating later. Although as Warhol said, "the idea of waiting for something makes it more exciting."

Expand full comment

So this is what you've been up to for the last 40 years! I think Louise is right, there is a lot of you in Stuart, or at least it seems that way in Track 1. Not saying that's a bad thing though. Enjoying it so far - nice to read something which is written in good English (I probably read too much from American authors/editors). I'm guessing that the close association of a novel with music (liking the soundtrack by the way) is unique, and with your long obsession with music it's perhaps no surprise. Also glad to know there's at least one other person who can place the emphasis correctly with the Manics!

It's going to be interesting to see how this develops, particularly in monthly instalments. I'm hoping each Track will be more or less self-contained as since retirement I find that the little grey cells struggle with days of the week, never mind remembering what I read 4 weeks ago! Understand why you've done it this way though. How many tracks are there?

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Nigel, pleased you enjoyed it. Glad I can add you to my select band of Manics emphasis police.

It's getting harder to deny there's an autobiographical element (Keith said I'd done nothing but change my name!), but I guess I can't entirely get away with the, "any resemblance to anyone living is purely coincidental," disclaimer from the movies. Hopefully though I'm not quite as obsessive as Stuart!

There are 20+ Tracks, so I'm afraid you're in for the long haul.

Expand full comment

Tim, I understand you wanting opinions as soon as possible but with a book I would not really have made up my mind by now after reading this much!

However I am enjoying it so far too, especially the mysterious bits ...

It's an interesting experience also, having some discussion before, after and around the text, though I am glad (or at least I hope) that this is not one of those "interactive" novels where the readers get to choose endings or directions - always best left to the author I think! And a pity we have to wait a month for another instalment :(

Expand full comment
author

Thx for the comments Brendan (and for being first in this month with the Challenge solution). Accept I’m a bit over keen asking for thoughts this early, but after a couple of years of solitary writing it’s just great to get some feedback.

And no need to worry, while I might yet tinker around with wording for the odd chapter the core plot (and how the intrigue unfolds) is already firmly set in stone.

Expand full comment

Really enjoying it so far Tim.

Expand full comment
author

Thx Jane

Expand full comment

Not quite sure how Substrack knows I’ve read it as I read the email copy? Anyway, loved the opener and looking forward to seeing how the story develops.

Expand full comment
author

So Big Brother Substack just knows you’ve opened the Track 1 email, I made the assumption you then read it!

Expand full comment

I particularly enjoyed Stuart's detailed musings. When I eventually retire, I hope to be allowed to spend time doing the same, without always having to do something productive. Learning a lot about you too Tim x

Expand full comment
author

I’m thinking of running workshops on being happily non-productive. Thx for the comments, although clearly you meant learning a lot about Stuart!

Expand full comment

Yes, of course, although you do seem remarkably similar!

Expand full comment